Rosemary Bocadillo

Ever since I went to Spain I have gotten intense cravings for bacadillos (pronounced bocadiyo). Luckily, there is a local Spanish tapas restaurant here called Mas and they make a delicious version of the Spanish classic. I stopped by Feast yesterday (a local deli with tons of great meats, cheese, and olive oils) and picked up some Serrano ham and manchego cheese. Today I attempted to make a bocadillo that was somewhat close the traditional Spanish ones. I didn’t have any regular crusty bread so I used the rosemary loaf that I have in the freezer (I always freeze my bread to keep it fresh and defrost it when I need it and then stick it back in the freezer).

Ingredients (for 1 sandwich)

  • 2 thick slices of rosemary bread (or you could use ciabatta or other crusty bread)
  • 8 slices Serrano ham
  • Manchego cheese
  • Garlic powder
  • Mayo
  • 2 tbsp. butter

Directions

Cut the bread into 2 thick slices. Spread mayo on both slices of bread and sprinkle a fair amount of garlic powder on top (this makes the mayo taste more like aioli than regular mayo).

Lay down a layer of cheese. Lay the Serrano ham on top in a ribbon-like fashion (you don’t want to just lay it down flat…kind of twist it around so that it gets some volume to it). Put another thin layer of cheese on top of the ham.

Close sandwich and grill over medium-low heat, covered, until bread is crispy and brown on both sides and meat is warmed. Cut in half and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

